Sherwood 2006

Dear Colleague,
We are pleased to announce the 2006 International Sherwood Fusion Theory Conference will be held jointly with the APS April Meeting ( in Dallas, Texas, on April 22-25, 2006. In addition to the usual focus on plasma physics and controlled fusion, the meeting will highlight some of the important science issues that are common to both the fusion effort and space and astrophysics. Common topics include the dynamo, magnetic reconnection, shocks and associated Rayleigh-Taylor structuring, and particle acceleration and heating. A set of invited talk sessions on the results of laboratory experiments addressing these topics are being sponsored jointly by the DPP, the Division of Astrophysics and the Topical Group on Plasma Astrophysics. In addition, the DAP is sponsoring a number of invited talks on important topics in plasma astrophysics. As a whole this will be an exciting meeting for the field of plasma physics. The joint sessions on the linkage to astrophysics begin on Saturday, April 22 while the formal Sherwood program begins on Sunday, April 23. The organizers would like to encourage all attendees to participate in the entire four days of the meeting and to avoid scheduling satellite meetings in conflict with the scheduled DPP program.

The meeting will take place at the Hyatt Regency Dallas. Please see the APS April Meeting web site for more details.

Because the meeting is being held as part of the APS April meeting, the deadlines are earlier than the normal Sherwood meeting and are as follows:

Sherwood oral talk requests: January 6 (send abstract to
Abstracts for ALL paper submissions: January 13 at 5 pm EST (APS web site)
Early registration: February 17
Post deadline abstracts: February 24
Satellite meetings: March 4
Housing: March 20

Those attendees who would like to present 30 minute Sherwood oral talks should e-mail their request and abstract to the program chair, Mark Carter, by January 6, 2006, and also resubmit their abstract through the APS web site by the deadline for all paper (oral and poster) submissions, January 13, 2006.

Professor James F. Drake
Chairman, Local Organizing Committee, Sherwood 2006
Department of Physics and Institute for Physical Science and Technology
University of Maryland

Program Committee Members

Chair-Mark Carter, ORNL (
John Finn, LANL (
Jim Drake, University of Maryland (
Eric Held, Utah State University (
Zhihong Lin, University of California, Irvine (
Linda Sugiyama, MIT (

Remember the next conference on May 6-8, 2024!

Remember the next conference on May 6-8, 2024!

Image Description
Image Description
Image Description